Connect with us


Ke’Bryan Hayes Named Gold Glove Finalist



Ke'Bryan Hayes, Pittsburgh Pirates

Rawlings announced the 2023 Gold Glove Finalists and unsurprisingly, Pittsburgh Pirates third baseman Ke’Bryan Hayes is in the running at the hot corner in the National League.

Hayes is joined by Atlanta Braves third baseman Austin Riley and Ryan McMahon of the Colorado Rockies as the three finalists for the award. Notably, Nolan Arenado is not a finalist this year and will not take home the honor for the first time in his 11-year career.

The 26-year-old Hayes led all third basemen across the league this season with 21 Defensive Runs Saved according to the Fielding Bible and was fourth in DRS regardless of position. He trailed only Daulton Varsho (Toronto Blue Jays), Fernando Tatis Jr. (San Diego Padres) and Andres Gimenez (Cleveland Guardians).

Hayes is looking to become the first Pirates’ third baseman in franchise history to win a Gold Glove. The last Pirates’ player to win one was catcher Jacob Stallings in 2021.

Last year, Hayes was a finalist, again alongside McMahon, but both players ultimately fell short to Arenado.

Elsewhere, Carlos Santana, who spent the first half of the season with the Pirates before he was traded to the Milwaukee Brewers, is a finalist at first base.

Rawlings will announce this year’s Gold Glove Award winners on Sunday, November 5 from 7:30-8:30 p.m. on ESPN.

Subscribe Today!

Subscribe today!

PBN in your Inbox

Enter your email address to get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox.

Copyright © 2024 National Hockey Now. All rights reserved. In no way endorsed by the Pittsburgh Pirates or Major League Baseball.

Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (PA/IL) or 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN only) or 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA only) or 1-800-522-4700 (CO Only) or TN REDLINE: 800-889-9789.