Connect with us


Hayes, Keller, McCutchen Take Home Pirates Team Awards



Pittsburgh Pirates, Ke'Bryan Hayes, Andrew McCutchen

Ke’Bryan Hayes is the headliner of the Pittsburgh Pirates’ award winners by taking home the 2023 Roberto Clemente Award, given to the team’s most valuable player, as voted on by the Pittsburgh chapter of the BBWAA.

In addition to Hayes being named the team MVP, Mitch Keller was the recipient of the Steve Blass Award as the Pirates’ top pitcher of the season and Andrew McCutchen won the Chuck Tanner Award, which is given to the player most cooperative with the media.

Hayes finished in first place for the Roberto Clemente Award over runner-up Bryan Reynolds, who took home the honor each of the last two seasons.

This year for the Pirates, Hayes has hit .272 with a .762 OPS, 29 doubles, seven triples, 15 home runs, 63 RBIs and 10 stolen bases in 123 games played. To go along with his efforts at the plate, Hayes is the Gold Glove frontrunner in the National League at third base.

Keller was named a National League All-Star for the first time this season and set a franchise record with 210 strikeouts, the most by a Pirates’ right-hander in a single season.

The right-hander finished the season with a team-high 13 wins and posted a 4.21 ERA in 32 starts while serving as an anchor in the Pirates’ rotation.

Finally, McCutchen was recognized as the player most cooperative with the media in his first year back with the Pirates after spending the last five seasons with the San Francisco Giants, New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies and Milwaukee Brewers.

Subscribe Today!

Subscribe today!

PBN in your Inbox

Enter your email address to get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox.

Copyright © 2024 National Hockey Now. All rights reserved. In no way endorsed by the Pittsburgh Pirates or Major League Baseball.

Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (PA/IL) or 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN only) or 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA only) or 1-800-522-4700 (CO Only) or TN REDLINE: 800-889-9789.