Connect with us


Bryan Reynolds Wins Clemente Award as Pirates’ MVP



Bryan Reynolds, Pittsburgh Pirates

Bryan Reynolds is the winner of the 2022 Roberto Clemente Award, emblematic of the Pittsburgh Pirates’ most valuable player.

The center fielder garnered the award through voting conducted by the Pittsburgh chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America. Rookie shortstop Oneil Cruz was second in the voting.

Right-hander Mitch Keller won the Steve Blass Award as the Pirates’ top pitcher this season, outpointing closer David Bednar. The Chuck Tanner Award, which goes to the player most cooperative with the media, goes to former infielder Michael Chavis.

Reynolds is hitting .259/.342/.796 with a team-high 27 home runs in 142 games.


States: PA, WV, NY, NJ

Get a $50 bet free when you sign up with DraftKings.

Scheduled to start Monday night against the St. Louis Cardinals at PNC Park, Keller has a 5-12 record and 3.92 ERA in 30 games, including 28 starts.

Chavis was designated for assignment last week and outrighted to Triple-A Indianapolis.


Welcome to your new home for Pittsburgh Pirates breaking news, analysis and opinion from John Perrotto, Cody Potanko, Danny Demilio and the Pirates Now crew. Subscribe for insider content and an ad-free browsing experience. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter.

PBN in your Inbox

Enter your email address to get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox.

Copyright © 2021 Pittsburgh Baseball Network and Pittsburgh Sports Now. All rights reserved. In no way endorsed by the Pittsburgh Pirates or Major League Baseball.

Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (PA/IL) or 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN only) or 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA only) or 1-800-522-4700 (CO Only) or TN REDLINE: 800-889-9789.

Be the first to know...

Sign up and get all of our articles sent straight to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.